Great Day Ministry

 


To access The Aboite Independent page click its tab above

“Great Day” Sunday 09/23/2018

As we travel the road of life, sometimes we may feel an invisible hand on our shoulder, or hear an almost imperceptible whisper in our ear. Some say its angels who warn us, other say it’s our conscience calling us to account.
Whatever form of communication He uses, one thing is clear, when God speaks, it’s in our best interest to pay attention.
We may not always see what lies ahead, but God knows.

A recommended song to accompany this devotion is “Hand On My Shoulder” by Sandy Patty.
To hear the complete 3-minute program click > on the sound bar ABOVE, or contact  greatdayministry@aol.com and request that it to be sent to your e-mail daily.
Users of ANDROID Mobile Devices can download this program by holding on  Great Day 092318 and selecting ‘Save Link’.

“Great Day Presents” Week Of 09/23/2018 – 09/29/2018


The Chapel Quotes

God is for us to accomplish His purpose and destiny for our lives. God will give us everything we need and give us everything He can to help us fulfill His purpose and His destiny for our lives.”

“God has called us to believe in Christ. His Spirit speaks to our spirit.  God uses the events of our lives and the people of our lives and His Spirit and His Word to call us to Himself.”

“Sin is falling short of God’s glory. It’s not being what God has meant us, shaped us and created us to be. Our selfishness and actions derail us from being what God wants us to be. It’s to miss the purpose and destiny He has for us.”

“If you want to be like Jesus, seek to serve. If you want to be unlike Jesus, seek to be served. If you have Christ you have been set free from your hurts, habits and hang-ups. You have been set free from the penalty of your sin.”

To access complete messages from The Chapel click http://www.thechapel.net to go to The Chapel website.

“Christian Stylings In Ivory” by composer-musician Don Krueger Week of 09/23/2018.

To hear the complete 15-minute program click > on the sound bar ABOVE.
Users of ANDROID Mobile Devices can download this program by holding on
Stylings 092318 and selecting ‘Save Link’.

Devotion 09/23/2018
Our Devotion: “Heavenly Healing” by Megan Alms of Indianapolis, Indiana, a professional writing student at Taylor University in Upland, Indiana.

“Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.” Romans 12:2 (NIV)

One winter, a friend of mine had a particularly nasty illness, so she went to the local health center for some antibiotics. They offered her penicillin. She politely asked for another medication, as she is allergic to penicillin.

“Are you sure?” the pharmacist asked. “We recommend you take the penicillin. Our other antibiotic costs 97 cents.”

My friend replied, once again, that she would have a severe reaction and could possibly die if she took the penicillin. Ninety-seven cents was not a high price to pay for something that would not put her life in danger. After some convincing, the pharmacist helped her purchase the correct medication.

I often feel like the culture I live in is like that pharmacist. The media offers us lust, jealousy, vanity, fear, and other destructive things to heal our suffering. It asks, “Are you sure you don’t want to try temporary pleasure? If you comply to religion, you give up so much.” In reality, the life prescribed to us by culture can be deadly. Like paying 97 cents for safe medication, giving up my own desires is a small price to pay for God’s healing.

Prayer: Lord, please help me keep my eyes on you rather than the temptations of the world. I give myself to you with the faith that you will heal me. Amen.


Book Review 09/19/2018

This Book Review is by Alyssa Roat, a professional writing major at Taylor University.

The Golden Vial: Book Three of Legends of the Realm
By Thomas Locke
Revell, PB, 293 pages

Dally is just a normal village servant—with untold magical powers.

In the third book of the Legends of the Realm series, the realm is under attack by dark forces, and the protagonist of the first two books is laid low with a deadly illness. In search of help, the queens of the humans and elves seek out an unknown village girl who has connected with the human queen in her dreams. This girl, Dally, joins the fight to rescue her home valley from the forces of darkness. But it doesn’t end there. She must ally herself with unfamiliar races, a majestic dragon, and other mages in order to travel across the realm, rescue the golden vial, and bring healing to her home. In the meantime, Dally struggles with her identity, trying to reconcile her former life as an orphan servant girl with her current role as a powerful mage with the fate of the realm in her hands. If she and her comrades do not succeed, their home will be destroyed.

With an intriguing magic system, battles between good and evil, and charming characters, this book is a breeze to read. Fans of Tolkien or Donita K. Paul are sure to enjoy this tale. Though some parts are confusing without having read the first two books, it is enjoyable on its own. The content is remarkably clean. The pure, simple tone is specifically ideal for a young adult audience with an interest in fantasy, but will also appeal to older and younger readers. There are no overt Christian messages, but there is a clear distinction between good and evil, and the content is refreshingly free of gore and suggestive content often present in fantasy. However, some Christians might not approve of the use of magic and spells.

Web Page Design by James C. Hoffmann