Great Day Ministry

 


To access The Aboite Independent page click its tab above

“Great Day” Friday 09/21/2018

Since 1982, September 21st has been designated International Day Of Peace, or World Peace Day. But for Christians every day presents opportunities and challenges to overcome violence and strife.
Let us pray for peace, and surrender our lives to our Lord and Savior Christ Jesus, the King of Peace.

A recommended song to accompany this devotion is “King Of Peace” by Tyrone Lacy and Amy Roth.
To hear the complete 3-minute program click > on the sound bar ABOVE, or contact  greatdayministry@aol.com and request that it to be sent to your e-mail daily.
Users of ANDROID Mobile Devices can download this program by holding on  Great Day 092118 and selecting ‘Save Link’.

“Great Day Presents” Week Of 09/16/2018 – 09/22/2018


The Chapel Quotes

Hardship in this life is normal. Know that God has something better for you, and places great worth on you. Our worth is that God loves us, and that He gave His Son for us.”

“The moment you die your soul, your spirit is going to be raised to heaven to be with Christ. And then there’s a future resurrection when your body is going to be raised, and there will be rewards.

“We struggle with our identity because we place our identity in things that are not going to last. Whatever has happened in your life, God knows about it, and He cares about it as much as any other need in the world.”

To access complete messages from The Chapel click http://www.thechapel.net to go to The Chapel website.

“Christian Stylings In Ivory” by composer-musician Don Krueger Week of 09/16/2018.

To hear the complete 15-minute program click > on the sound bar ABOVE.
Users of ANDROID Mobile Devices can download this program by holding on
Stylings 091618 and selecting ‘Save Link’.

Devotion 09/16/2018
Our Devotion: “Waiting in the Future” by Hope Bolinger of Hudson, Ohio, a professional writing student at Taylor University in Upland, Indiana.

“Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they?” Matthew 6:26 (NIV)

“On the climb up the mountain, make sure to stop a few times to check the view.”

I rolled my eyes. How did our leader expect us to follow those directions? The legs of everyone in my senior class twitched in agitation. Already, certain classmates exchanged bets as to who would reach the top the fastest.

The second my leader wedged his sneaker at the foot of the mountain, the anxious assembly stampeded forward. Several classmates hiked up their legs and commenced a turkey trot. Some even sprinted. Fretful to keep up, I stumbled up the hill and shoved my way past several slower peers. I kept my eyes glued to the top of the mountain. Nothing else mattered.

Fiery thorns wrapped around my lungs, and I began to hyperventilate. I doubled over and wheezed. My asthma must have climbed up the mountain quicker than I did. I collapsed on the ground. Disappointed, I heard the cheers of my classmates. However, my frustration melted when I turned away from the top to spy the view. After gazing at the tangerine sun and evergreen slope of the mountain, I wished I’d stopped more than that one time. 

Often future plans veil our vision. When we climb up the mountain, we want to reach the top. Perhaps we should stop and enjoy the present moment, and take time to gaze downward upon our past. We might be surprised with how far we have climbed.

Prayer: Help me not to have tunnel vision when I make plans for the future. Amen.


Book Review 09/19/2018

This Book Review is by Alyssa Roat, a professional writing major at Taylor University.

The Golden Vial: Book Three of Legends of the Realm
By Thomas Locke
Revell, PB, 293 pages

Dally is just a normal village servant—with untold magical powers.

In the third book of the Legends of the Realm series, the realm is under attack by dark forces, and the protagonist of the first two books is laid low with a deadly illness. In search of help, the queens of the humans and elves seek out an unknown village girl who has connected with the human queen in her dreams. This girl, Dally, joins the fight to rescue her home valley from the forces of darkness. But it doesn’t end there. She must ally herself with unfamiliar races, a majestic dragon, and other mages in order to travel across the realm, rescue the golden vial, and bring healing to her home. In the meantime, Dally struggles with her identity, trying to reconcile her former life as an orphan servant girl with her current role as a powerful mage with the fate of the realm in her hands. If she and her comrades do not succeed, their home will be destroyed.

With an intriguing magic system, battles between good and evil, and charming characters, this book is a breeze to read. Fans of Tolkien or Donita K. Paul are sure to enjoy this tale. Though some parts are confusing without having read the first two books, it is enjoyable on its own. The content is remarkably clean. The pure, simple tone is specifically ideal for a young adult audience with an interest in fantasy, but will also appeal to older and younger readers. There are no overt Christian messages, but there is a clear distinction between good and evil, and the content is refreshingly free of gore and suggestive content often present in fantasy. However, some Christians might not approve of the use of magic and spells.

Web Page Design by James C. Hoffmann